I too may be on the way out.

I have been, voluntarily or just accidentally, bugging out of participation here. Partly from having the system all churned-up by the site service-providers, mainly from caring-less and feeling that I would rather be fixing my old go-playing program to run again, only redesigned to improve its game sufficiently in maybe a million years or so of playing with itself….

The Bible. A collection of stories-of and ravings-by people who once lived their lives in reference to God.

Here we are, reading these books in an age of disconnection. (Like all the other ages we’ve ever heard of…) Our civilization offers us the choice of being disconnected atheists or disconnected believers. God knows we can’t live that way; it’s just not eternally viable! But this seems to be the norm.

I’ve seen a lot of comments here. I can’t be sure my own comments are better–How would I know what blind spots I’m not seeing?– but most of what I’ve observed has been people busy confirming their own mental baggage. If this were an airplane it would still be on the runway struggling to move against all the anchors we’d hung out the windows.

I can’t prove myself innocent, nor would it matter. What I’m saying is that this exercise, as we’ve been practicing it, is useless. No wonder people quit (or stay away from the beginning) in droves.

Am I the only one who’s felt this? What might be a better approach?

4 responses

  1. Forrest, I would be glad to hear what, if any, approach you might think is better.

  2. Well, enthusiasm comes & goes. It would help if we could recruit a pool of contributers to keep things going during our own low points.There’s worshipful discussion, and it isn’t the same as just looking at the surface.The whole world is scripture, and sometimes “scripture” just seems too narrow a selection from what we’re given.I started to drift off around here: “She was a Greek, a Syrophoenician by birth, and she asked him to drive the evil spirit out of her daughter. Jesus said to her, ‘You must let the children have all they want first. It is not right, you know, to take the children’s food and throw it to the dogs.’ “This isn’t my guy, talking here. It’s not as if I didn’t know that the gospel writers put words into his mouth now & then, but this one is blatant. Out of character, whatever I imagine his character to have been.Am I supposed to think that more enlightenment is possible from taking this passage with critical reverence than if we’d discussed _Mouse Tales_ instead? What is revealed here, except that we cover even our most sacred revelations with monkey-prints?My discussion-group has been working our way through a popular gee-whiz book about the gnostics. Unlikely material, but we keep being shown genuine possibility in even the most unlikely-sounding historical influences. Spiritual relevence?–I dunno.The Gnostics were right about one thing–the need for personal spiritual contact with God. But they muddied it all up with notions, all the same. Their opponents won out via political considerations, sometimes with better notions, sometimes with worse ones.We need two eyes to see in depth; we need a pair o docs to keep our vision healthy. The Devil on the throne and the Holy One neglected in the desert; close your eyes to one and you lose sight of all… God shines down and out-from and through it all.& as Bonnie Raitt is singing from my computer as I write this, “Retribution got a mind of its own.” …”You can keep on sliding but one day you know you’re going to fall…” We have inherited wrath, been given grace; aside from that we’ve been offered whole towers of theological toothpicks but I wouldn’t put my weight on any of them. “Let us not talk falsely now; the hour is getting late.”–And equally, even more so, the only real reality is sacred and means us only good. (But looking back will turn you to salt if you don’t watch out!)Everything you’re used to guarding as if it were your life… isn’t. Let it go. Do what’s left.

  3. I’m just starting to look around here – I hope to be joining the conversation soon!

Leave a Reply

