John 17 … crystal

When I was with them I protected them in your name that you gave me, and I guarded them, and none of them was lost except the son of destruction, in order that the scripture might be fulfilled.

… Judas, I guess? I wonser what it means exactly to be “lost”?

I do not ask that you take them out of the world but that you keep them from the evil one.

…the evil one … Ignatius calls him the enemy or the bad spirit … it seems that most modern christians believe more in a depersonalized evil rather than a personification of it as is mentioned here.

Father, they are your gift to me. I wish that where I am they also may be with me, that they may see my glory that you gave me, because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

… we are a gift to Jesus 🙂 like children? You loved me before the foundation of the world – the trinity existing, 3 in 1, a timeless relationship to which we can belong.

2 responses

  1. For me to be lost is to be without direction in life, without a guiding principle that gives life meaning.As in Ephesians 4:14.

  2. Hi Larry. That’s a good definition of lost.

Leave a Reply

